The First Three Days

We have had quite a time the last few days as we are figuring out the routine and rhythm of the clinic.  Fortunately, everyone is gracious and patient.  We have met many of the other patients and  their companions here.  They have come from all over the world.  Many are from the states and others are from Germany (of course), England, New Zealand, Australia, Nairobi and even Mauritius!

The most challenging issue we face so far, and  those of you who know me will understand, is getting my daily cup of coffee.  Everyday, when we can slip away for awhile, we trek through the most beautiful, biggest park ever.  The trail leads us through the expansive courtyard of the local castle, out through the arches that make the front gate, across the cobblestone road, and into the Italian coffee shop.  After three visits, the server is beginning to recognize us and she appreciates our feeble attempts to order our cappuccinos in German.

We were told that most people here speak English.  Apparently, that’s not true in Bad Mergantheim so we are struggling “a bit” (picked that one up from the Aussies) with the language barrier.  It took me two days to learn “ich nicht spreche Deutsch” which means “I don’t speak German”.  The need to use it presented itself when the Physical Therapist was vigorously explaining the treatment she was about to give me in German.  I politely and proudly interrupted saying “ich nicht spreche Deutsch”.  She smiled, nodded and resumed her explaination  still in German!  I have no clue what I submitted myself to!

Most of what I have done so far in the clinic involves evaluations and tests along with some infusions of ozone and vitamins.  I have also undergone many different types of physical therapies.  My favorite was something called cupping massage. Now I know that since the Olympics, we’ve all heard about cupping.  For those who don’t watch TV, it is when you take a little silicone cup and apply suction to your muscles in order to remove toxins and relieve pain.  Well, this is Germany and German’s are innovative.  I believe the machine is called the “Pnuemetron”.  Absolutely  fantastic!  My least favorite is my daily shot in the behinny.

Oh, well.  Anybody want to help me convert my vacuum cleaner?