Week 2 at Hufeland

For those of you who are hoping to hear more about the clinic, I appreciate your patience.  I overheard another patient explaining that the first week here is like the first week of high school.   You are running to and fro trying to figure out where all of your classes are and what each teacher expects of you and to make matters more complicated, again, much of it is in German.  Fortunately, the first week is pretty light as was mine.  However, this week is very full.

Some things I can explain. Somethings I cannot explain because I haven’t the faintest idea what they are, just like school.  I promise this go around that I will not skip any classes, but that doesn’t count the creamed spinach we were served at lunch yesterday.  I won’t be descriptive here because you really don’t want to know.  I must say, however, that other than that, the food has been very good and dining here is a very pleasant experience.

Treatment this week is much more involved and I will be busy with that all day most days.  Yesterday morning began with several infusions including the ozone and vitamin infusions. I also received my first mistletoe infusion.  All of this I tolerated well.  The focus of the afternoon was more breathing therapy and my favorite treatment: suction therapy.  In the days ahead, I will try to provided more information on the purpose of each of these.

Whole Body Hyperthermia was on the schedule today. The purpose of this treatment is to raise the core body temperature in order to activate the immune system.  It also has a direct effect on tumors.  Studies have shown that it can cause tumors to shrink and even completely eradicate them.

I spent two hours in a box of sorts with infrared lights heating my  body.  Afterwards I was wrapped in the flexible sides of the box and left for 20 more minutes basting in my own sweat.  At that point I was apparently still not fully roasted so they transferred me to my room to lie in bed with hot water bottles for another hour.  Despite the fact that I do hour long, 130 degrees Fahrenheit saunas regularly at home, this process was completely exhausting.  I was then served lunch in my room to finally be forced out by another appointment.

Finally, a trip through the castle courtyard and back to the Italian bistro for coffee with my dear husband restored my sense of well being and as he likes to say, “made the world a better place for the rest of us”.